Cancel search

Can you print a Red RAL3020 on HP Latex?

#1 tailoxal 3 years ago

Hi there! I would like to print a good red on my HP Latex 315 that I have been using for the past 2 years.

Solid red on a white substrate Metamark MDP-H

Please consider that I use this HP Latex 315 only for printing italian standard safety signs. Solid black on yellow substrate; solid red, green or blue on white substrate. When red is involved I just use the Mimaki wich is getting old though

I never been able to achieve a good red, a deep orange on the best days with the best setting: 0-100-100-0 20p - 120 density

Today I wanted to get the reddest red I can get so:

I have already tried to change the CMYK of my red, the only good alternative was 0-95-100-0. Adding Cyan or Black took away brightness from the red.

So i wanted to ask: Can you print a Red RAL3020 on your HP Latex? Or any good deep red

Can the Latex 315 achieve a good red?

If that's a yes I guess that the three possible culprits for my problems may be:

1) ICC - I can't create my own ICC (no spectrophotometer, no options from HP Latex 315). I tried the factory preset for Metamark MDP-H but it took away brightness from my colors. I just print without color correction. I only use the linearization of the preset when I want to change the density/passages during the print (standard usally 10p - 110%)

2) faulty printhead - maybe the magenta doesn't get pushed out correctly? The printhead test looks perfect though

3) dumbness of the operator - Am I missing something?

Thank you for any help!

#2 HP Daniela Ciolompea 3 years ago

Hi @tailoxal,

If you need to create an ICC, you have to use an external spectrophotometer in order to have a Red RAL3020.

In this what I can recommend is performing a nozzle check, and if some PHs are not performing correctly I recommend cleaning them.

Here is a video explaining how to clean the Print Heads: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PP6WwQdDUTM

Was this helpful?Yes0 No1